DMIP Lecture 1 – Creating a WordPress

The first lecture in DMiP was not entirely what I had expected.  After hearing that we would be creating and maintaining a blog, I automatically assumed we would be creating a website in Dreamweaver.  Upon discovering we were to use WordPress, I must admit I was a touch disappointed.  However after using WordPress for a few hours I discovered my mistrust was unfounded, and there is good reason to use WordPress for this sort of thing.  There seems to be a fairly decent array of layout options and themes built into the site, giving you the ability to create an individual look for your blog, with relative ease, also maintaining the blog is simple and fast, allowing you to post new posts to whatever format you wish.  There is a fairly decent amount of space, totalling 3gig of online storage space.

As well as creating a WordPress blog, we where introduced to some useful Photoshop techniques, including the colour replacement tool, which after experimenting with for a few minutes I found to be quite useful.  It also allowed me to experiment in my own time with banners and background design.

To create a free WordPress blog of you’re own, visit http://wordpress.com/ !

Aside from my slight disappointment at finally having my own website, I have found WordPress to be most useful, intuitive and above all, simple.

About opinionatedalex

Less opinionated than one might think.
This entry was posted in Digital Media in Practice and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to DMIP Lecture 1 – Creating a WordPress

  1. Cool banner dude. Y kernuick morlader!

  2. C & R says:

    Looking good. Nice post too 🙂

Leave a Reply

