DMiP Lecture 5 – Final Cut Pro Colour Correction

Colour Correction

This week in DMiP we have experimented with colour correction, as well as changing the brightness and contrast settings for a video.

This image shows the workspace for selecting the desired effect.

This next image also shows three spheres of colour, used to change the colour correction of an image for the darks, mediums and lights.

Brightness and Contrast

This image shows the workspace for the brightness and contrast settings.

My Attempts

Using the colour correction and brightness and contrast settings, I attempted to correct the settings on a purposefully edited piece of film, one that was done badly, and then compare it to the original well shot footage.

This was my attempt at fixing an under exposed piece of footage.  The brightness and contrast settings allowed me to bring this out of extreme darkness too relative normality, even if the footage now looks like it was shot on an overcast day, when it was not.

This second image was the original footage.  Clearly the original was better than my piece, however the effect was fairly sucessfull.

This image is another i have edited.  This footage was deliberately under saturated in one of the colours, being red.  The footage was incredibly blue as a result, but the colour correction tool allowed me to change the video to a more reasonable and believable colour.

This second image was the original footage.  I think I may prefer my edited version to the original.

Filters

Our next task was to experiment with filter effects and overlay them onto our footage.  The first filter I chose is called bad TV.  The effects of this are shown in the next image, and they should be rather obvious.

The next effect I chose was called replicate and it is also obvious what it does.


The final effect I chose is called Vignette.  With this filter I managed to change the base properties and get a fairly convincing drunken walk effect.

About opinionatedalex

Less opinionated than one might think.
This entry was posted in Digital Media in Practice and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

