Lecture 4 – Final Cut Editing

Tea-Total

Having finished our filming for the Tea-Total movie the week before, it was time to edit our soon to be masterpiece using the program Final Cut Pro.  Seeing as I was the one with the most experience using any sort of film editing, having used one of Final Cuts competitor programs, Adobe Premiere, I was picked for edit duty.

After opening the program I found that the interface was similar to that of Adobe Premiere, and I felt confident that I could pick up the program relatively easily and without much guidance, however I was terribly wrong.  After about an hour of attempting to transfer the video from the tape to the computer, I cried out in anguish and tried to throw myself out of the nearest window, however I was on the ground floor and so the swift death I so longed for was unavailable to me and secondly Bernard was there to show me how to transfer the footage at the click of a button, and so I recovered.

The going got a lot easier after that and I began to rock the editing process using the handy slice tool to break up my scenes, however after beginning this I was informed that I should be using the rushes log we put together during filming, and get the Mac to cut up all the scenes for us.  I was shown how to do this and so I attempted to do it myself.  I must admit I found the rushes log much more of a hindrance than a help, however I do understand that in a larger scale production or even a similar size one, the camera guy isn’t always going to be the editor, and therefore a rushes log is essential.  For a single man production or for a small group production with myself as the editor, I would rather not use a rushes log and manually cut out the shots as a personal preference.

The Rushes Log allowed the naming of each shot as well as separation from the rest of the footage

I found that the interface in Final Cut made a lot of sense once I got used to it, especially the audio and video tracks layout with adjustable views for extreme detailed work on single frames, or much larger scale work focused on whole minutes of footage.

The Track layout was fantastic to work with as I found it “made sense”

Editing footage with Final Cut I began to wonder what sort of effects were built into the program for editing my footage, and so I had a nose around and discovered the effects panel.  I didn’t go overboard with these as I did not know the restrictions and complications that would arise from using them, however I did add in a title sequence for the film before exporting the whole thing.

The Effects Panel and its myriad of options

After completing the final video I had decided that I liked working with Final Cut as it made sense to me, and while having the option to become complicated and intricate, as a beginner user I found that you could avoid most of that and stick with the basic tools to get the job done, albeit not to a fantastic quality, but a respectable one.

I shall link in the final video once I have finished uploading it to youtube!

About opinionatedalex

Less opinionated than one might think.
This entry was posted in Single Camera DVP and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

