All Along the Watchtower – Production Diary

Day 1

Seeing as I have a large amount of time over the next few months I wanted to get several personal projects on the go, beginning with a short film.  The reason for this is I really enjoyed producing the few pieces of moving image for Digital Video Production and I feel that I should try to improve on my skills, to which end I have decided to create a short video about a song, All Along the Watchtower.  During this time I have decided to keep a production diary, which will allow my process and mistakes to be read by me as a reminder of what not to do next time, and also by other people interested in doing the same thing, but unsure what to do in what order.

I decided to try to create a “music video” not only for the video but because I wanted a chance to record my own sound or music, and then experiment with creating a video around the music.  An issue with this is that I will need to learn how to play certain instruments such as a piano and saxophone in order to complete this task.

I plan on forming the music from three instruments, two of which I have already mentioned, and a bass guitar.  I feel that the piano being the versatile instrument that it is can deal with most of the tune, being backed up by the bass guitar, and I plan on keeping any vocals out of the music as I cannot sing to save my life!  This is the reason for the Saxophone, able to cope with being mostly silent but also capable of taking the spotlight when needed, I also have a personal love of the sound that it makes.

Having planned out a rough list of things that need to be done I am attempting to put some sort of order to this chaos, to which this list is what needs to be done, and in what order.

  • Secure or write (roughly) the sheet music for All Along the Watchtower
  • Find a Piano and someone who can teach me to play (roughly).
  • Dig the Saxophone out of its corner and overcome the embarrassment of playing the damn thing
  • Fix my Bass Guitar and re-condition my fingers to handle the strings.
  • Find Laurence Hall or another tutor so I can actually get a camera and microphone for recording.
  • Locate a suitable area to music recording, or book time in the recording studio.
  • Locate a suitable area for filming (Constitution Hill? Dartmoor? Trebarwith Strand?)
  • Drag the instruments out of the film location, missing rain wind and snow, then get the footage onto the Mac’s.
  • Editing Process for both film and music, probably over several days.

I feel that these are the basic steps I must take to complete my project, however many a hiccup along the way will ensue, so I have decided to keep the length of time this project will take me, starting from the finding of the piano.  I do this to hurry myself along and to give a realistic representation of how much time is required for this kind of project.

Wish me Luck!

 

About opinionatedalex

Less opinionated than one might think.
This entry was posted in All Along the Watchtower and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

