What The Agfa?

A Camera

So, I have an analogue camera.  Wonderfull, I thought I would write a bit about its history as it is a few years older than myself, however as I cracked open the internet, ready to inform myself about this wonderful piece of technology I faltered, unknown as it was to me then, the name that would elude me for at least an hour.

This certain camera is coated in a protective layer of names, words and numbers, in a bid to keep away the illiterate, and to prevent me from finding out its name.  However, in 1957-58, when this camera was made, Agfa obviously didn’t realise that by now Google’s image search would render their protective illiteracy field useless!

Super Silly-XL

The Agfa Super Silette-L

On a serious note, the Super Silette-L (Thank you Google) was made by German camera makers Agfa, as part of the Silette series.  The Super Silette-L was a 35mm fixed lens camera, with a viewfinder, range-finder and a selenium meter.

The Super Silette-L

Although I was daunted by this camera when I set eyes on it, I have grown to admire how much control it allows you when taking photos.  I suppose digital point and click cameras have made photography lazy, it was incredible to be able to manually shoot a photo, setting F-number and shutter speed and experimenting with different settings to create entirely new results from the same shot.

Curious as I was to find out how much the Super Silette was worth, I scouted the internet attempting to find one for sale, however it was some time before I found even one for sale.

I visited a website called The Camera house, which seems to sell vintage cameras in various conditions, and to my joy I found a single half working Silette-L with this description:

“Camera Super Silette-L c1953 with Color Solinar 50/f2.8 coated lens \ Synchro Compur shutter uncoupled exposure meter coupled range finder+case Exc++All OK-speeds 1/8 &1/15 nearly always work.speeds below tempremental due to lack of use”

This is on sale for £45, and considering it is only half working, the camera seems to have a fairly good price to its name, however as I was unable to find out its original value I am unable to compare.

For anyone wishing to buy this camera the website is here.

I also found two old Ebay pages, selling the Super Silette at 20 pounds, however it was not bought.  I personally think that 20 pounds for this camera is criminal and would expect 75 plus at the very least, simply because of its versatility.

About opinionatedalex

Less opinionated than one might think.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

